Director Majdański with a professorship

On 14 February, the President of the Republic of Poland, Andrzej Duda, signed the nomination of Director Mariusz Majdanski as a professor.

Prof. Mariusz Majdański has been professionally attached to the Institute of Geophysics of the Polish Academy of Sciences since 2006. He obtained his habilitation in Earth Sciences in 2014. Since 2015, he has held the position of Director of Scientific Affairs.
From 2016 to 2019, Prof. Majdański led two major research projects funded by the National Science Centre: “Relationship of permafrost with geomorphology, geology and cryospheric components based on geophysical research of the Hans glacier forefield and its surroundings” and “Three dimensional model of the lithosphere in Poland with verification of seismic parameters of the wave field”.
Prof. Majdański's scientific interests include such issues as: seismic modelling of the Earth’s crust, analysis of seismic and gravity data, near-surface seismic and permafrost studies.
When asked about the scientific plans Prof. Majdański replies that he would like to deal with geothermal and geohazard, in particular the use of seismic in near-surface research and time-lapse imaging, which allow for the imaging of changes in the studied medium, in particular the presence, quantity and state of fluid aggregation in the rock medium. 
"These methods are perfect for monitoring industrial processes of obtaining energy from geothermal sources, both shallow and deep. Poland, with a certain geothermal potential, is a place where such geophysical support will make it possible to use this potential." - he adds. 
The use of seismic attributes to identify rock mass fractures in combination with modern techniques of data acquisition in the form of fiber optic lines (Distributed Acoustic Sensing, DAS) and interpretation techniques using the full waveform invesion, make the group dealing with this subject able to conduct work at the highest world level, and also give a useful result for the economy and society of Poland.