Atmospheric Physics


  • The ozone layer, including measurements of total ozone content using Dobson and Brewer spectrophotometers, measurements of vertical distribution of ozone by Umkehr method and the analysis of the variability of the ozone layer.
  • Solar radiation, with particular emphasis on radiation in the ultraviolet region of the solar spectrum.
  • Monitoring of atmospheric air pollutants: sulfur dioxide, ground-level ozone, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, PM10.
  • Studies of atmospheric aerosol containing iron using Mössbauer spectroscopy.
  • Electricity of thunderstorms, with particular emphasis on cloud-to-ground and upper atmosphere lightning (Transient Luminous Events).
  • Fair-weather electricity, including measurements of the potential gradient, current density and electrical conductivity of air.
  • Global atmospheric electric circuit.
  • Planetary boundary layer.


Research teams

  • Atmospheric Ozone - Head: dr hab. Janusz Jarosławski
  • Atmospheric Aerosol - Head: dr hab. Aleksander Pietruczuk
  • Atmospheric Turbulence and Electricity - Head: prof. dr hab. Zbigniew Sorbjan


  • Long-term variability of ozone, UV radiation and atmospheric aerosol.
    Head: prof. dr hab. Janusz Krzyścin
  • Solar radiation monitoring and examination of its variability in selected spectral ranges. Study of the impact of the changes in aerosol on solar radiation at the Earth's surface.
    Head: dr hab. Aleksander Pietruczuk
  • Variability of atmospheric electric parameters and cloud and magnetospheric electric generator of the global atmospheric electric circuit.
    Head: dr Marek Kubicki
  • Modeling of dusk and night-time Atmospheric Boundary Layer.
    Head: prof. dr. hab. Zbigniew Sorbjan